The Southern Tasmanian Councils Authority is a regional organisation of Councils created by the twelve Southern Councils to facilitate cooperative working partnerships and to improve the ability of Councils to take joint action to address regional development issues and progress sustainable economic, environmental and social outcomes for Southern Tasmania, its local communities and the State.

In addition it has a role in actively lobbying State and Federal Governments on issues that promote the combined interests of its member Councils.

The Board
The STC Board comprises the Mayors of the 12 Councils and is chaired by the Lord Mayor of Hobart. The 12 Council General Managers also attend Board meetings. 

The members of STCA have resolved that there are a number of core areas that are priorities in respect to regional development.

These areas fall broadly into the following strategic themes:

  • Improved Physical Infrastructure
  • Enhanced Economic Development
  • Improved Environmental Performance
  • Enhanced Social well-being
  • Improved Inter-regional Cooperation