Tourism Appointments

Appointments to Board of Southern Region Tourism Association

The twelve Southern Councils, as financial contributors to Tasmania’s South Regional Tourism Association (Tas South), have the right to appoint three of the seven Directors on the Tas South Board.

Tas South operates through the business unit known as Totally South Tourism – tourism development and marketing, whose website is

Two appointments are to be made by the Councils in 2009; one for a period of one year and a second for a two year period, both commencing in November 2009.

Membership of the Board provides interested and suitably qualifi ed people with an opportunity to make a signifi cant contribution to the development and ongoing delivery of services to international and interstate visitors to Southern Tasmania, as well as to residents of all parts of the State.

All Board positions are honorary. The STCA is seeking to appoint people who together will possess the following experience, knowledge, attributes and skills:

  • High level strategic, business and leadership skills and extensive experience in commerce, accounting, financial management or law; and the ability to apply these in the context in which Tasmania’s South Regional Tourism Association operates.
  • Demonstrated understanding of the role of Regional tourism, the rapid changes that are currently occurring in the marketing environment of tourism and the resultant challenges faced by the Industry.
  • High level of skills and experience in tourism, events or convention related businesses.
  • A combination of extensive public and private sector networks and the ability to influence and advocate on behalf of the Industry.

Further information is available from David Lovell, Joint CEO, STCA on 0408121714.

Those making application are requested to do so by addressing the criteria listed by email to David Lovell.

Applications close at 5pm on Friday 9 October 2009.

Attributes required by Directors [PDF 64Kb]
Chairman’s Report AGM 08 [PDF 1.3Mb]
Strategic Plan 2008-2012 [PDF 1.4Mb]